How to tell a story in the digital age

Recently I read a TechCrunch article regarding how technology will advance in the next five years. TechCrunch tweeted the below:

 

5 things that will disappear in 5 years

Screenshot via twitter.com

Entitled “5 Things That Will Disappear in 5 Years,” the succinct, descriptive article title immediately grabbed my attention. The summary (under the photo) intrigued me further. Including just the first couple of sentences, the article begins, “Just five years ago the world was a very different place. In 2010…” These simple first few words made me think: Where was technology five short years ago? What technology do I use today that didn’t exist in 2010? Five years seems like a short period of time, yet technology has advanced greatly. What conveniences will modern technology bring us in the next 5 years?

Lastly, the accompanying picture caused me to consider (maybe “hope” is a better word here) TV remote controls would soon disappear. No more searching the couch cushions!

tumblr_mql6q4uaxu1qdlh1io1_400Gif via Wiffle Gif

An attention grabbing title, thought-provoking first couple of sentences, and accompanying photo compelled me to click through to discover which five technologies will no longer be relevant in 2020.

The article begins by laying a foundation: the author describes what technologies were emerging five years ago and asserts that “we haven’t look back.” Instead of a traditional storytelling format like the inverted pyramid or story arc, the author uses a list format. The author keeps the reader hooked by listing each soon-to-be bygone item in bold followed by a description of what new technology will replace it. I was intrigued to learn what conveniences I can soon look forward to.

I also clicked the tweet because I am interested in this subject matter. I believe Techcrunch’s target audience consists of Millennials who grew up using computers and the internet, as well as individuals in the technology industry. I follow Techcrunch on Twitter and Facebook, expecting to be cognizant of technological advances.

This article provided information based on expert speculation. It was laid out in such a way that made me want to continue reading, wondering what will soon be tools of yesteryear.

Leave a Reply

